You are invited to the Region VIII Dinner at Vito's Chop House in Orlando, FL @ the Winter Meeting on Monday February 3, 2019 starting @ 6:30 PM.

Please contact Randy Schrecengost at for reservations.  If you are bringing guests, please advise Randy of their names.


We look forward to seeing you there! 




On June 19, 1961, shortly after the merger between ASHAE and ASRE, a group in Tyler, Texas petitioned the ASHRAE Board of Directors to form the East Texas Chapter. The Board responded by granting a charter on October 24, 1961.

The founding of the chapter was primarily due to the initiative of Frank H. Faust and Walter R. Yeary.  At that time Faust was Second Vice President of ASHRAE. He became First Vice President the following year and was national President for the June 1963 and July 1964 period.  During this period bo...

Each year, the Region selects a member to shadow the DRC over the course of the Winter Conference, attending all meetings and events.  Here is what our most recent LeaDRS participant had to say: 


I would like to start out by thanking you for the honor of being your LeaDRS candidate. I feel fortunate to have been picked for such an opportunity. I am also thankful to society and the region for sponsoring my trip.

It has been a good experience seeing how the DRC conducts his time at the Winter Conference. Even though I h...

More than 30 students attended Region VIII's gathering on Sunday, January 13th, 2019 at the ASHRAE Winter Conference in Atlanta, GA. Students enjoyed a variety of pizzas and soda. Schools represented include: Texas A&M, University of Oklahoma, Oklahoma State University, University of Texas at Austin, University of Texas at Tyler, University of Arizona at Little Rock, and Arkansas State University. Thanks to Chris Ahne, RVC-SA, for hosting this event! 

The Arkansas Chapter of ASHRAE was founded January 27, 1952.  Arkansas Chapter has won (9) Region VIII Golden Gavel Awards for outstanding chapter in a year.  When the Presidential Award of Excellence (PAOE) was instituted in 1970, Arkansas Chapter won 13 consecutive Premier ratings, and twice in that span had Most Points in Society.  Arkansas Chapter has produced (2) ASHRAE Society presidents, Bill Goodman (1999-2000) and Bill Harrison (2008-09), and (4) ASHRAE Fellows:  John Sandfort, Bill Goodman, Sam Cummings, and Darrin...

Don Carter, long time Central Oklahoma Chapter member recently retired from the University of Oklahoma (OU).  He continues to serve the COK chapter in several areas, from helping the Student Activity chairs to manning the registration desk at our Fall RP Golf event. 

For more than 12 years the Construction Science Division (CNS) at the University of Oklahoma was lucky enough to have Don Carter, an experienced and dedicated professional, teaching students about mechanical, electrical, and plumbing systems.  As a memb...

The West Texas Chapter of ASHRAE was chartered in the fall of 1953, when air conditioning was a burgeoning idea on the high plains of Texas.  In West Texas, our wet bulb depression is 26 degrees, so we have plenty of great weather, and beautiful sunsets.  We are a semi-arid region, with little rainfall and a dry climate.  Evaporative cooling and waterside economizers really work up here!  Our members design, sell and build $100M research labs and medical facilities, but for comfort conditions, we size our HVAC on the sensibl...


On September 10 to 13, 1997, on the occasion of the AHR Expo-Mexico, a group of distinguished members of ASHRAE that, among others, included Don Holte (President), Leo Stambaugh (Director and President of Region VIII), Robert Gleeson (President-Elect of the Alamo Chapter) and Carlos Estrada (President of the Mexico Chapter), extended an invitation to form in Monterrey a Section of the Alamo Chapter of San Antonio, TX.

Many interested people and a local member attended; the Ing. Geronimo Quintanilla initiated t...

We are saddened to report the passing of Bill Marshall from Sugar Land, TX on September 26, 2018. You may read his complete obituary here

William "Bill" Howe Marshall, 81, passed away September 26, 2018 in Houston, TX. Retired Consulting Engineer, Senior Vice President of I.A. Naman + Associates, Life Member of ASHRAE . Native of Beaumont, TX, 44 year resident of Missouri City, TX former Missouri City Councilman and Planning Commissioner. Beloved husband, father, grandfather, great-grandfather, survived by his wife Martha J...

Our chapter was founded in 1958 so we are celebrating our 50th anniversary (this does not include the one year we were an ASHAE chapter prior to this)

Noted people include our founding president Tom Romine, Art Giesler, Emil Friberg, Al Utesch, James R. Blanke, and Golden Gavel Award winners Joe Romine, W.O. Kelly III, D.W. Gipson, Charles Wedemeyer, L.R. “Rush” Klein, Jr., Jay Martin, and Ian Bost.


Our Fort Worth Chapter members have won a wide range of awards over the past 5 years. Some of the members and...

Please reload

Featured Posts
Please reload

Recent Posts

February 10, 2020

Please reload

Please reload

Search By Tags
Please reload

Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square